Stuck And Overly Playful

I got to Chapter 8 in the mythical series before I got stuck with drama. The typical emotions and conversations of choices made that hurt characters, etc pretty much bogged my mind down. Now I’ve woken up with vigor and want nothing more than to screw it all up by throwing some extra magical features just to make sure those conversations never take place. You can’t talk if you’re running for your life right? *devious smile*

Ready to light up the book with some extra fanciful twists and magical uphill moments while reality can always be counted on to bring you back down hard and fast.

8 thoughts on “Stuck And Overly Playful

  1. slepsnor says:

    I’m a little confused. Are you trying to stop the characters from hurting each other and the plot? Sounds almost like they began brawling on you and put themselves in the hospital.

    • mlnewman87 says:

      I was referring to emotional pain not physical but it is pretty tense…I wouldn’t be surprised if it got to that point. The saying too many hands in the pudding comes to mind. Too many plans, too many emotions, too many questions, mythical male ego/pride and enemies on the other side of the door. 🙂

      • slepsnor says:

        I’ve had that. I actually let my characters throwdown or scream at each other if they get really angry with each other. They inevitably come back to the center after cooling off, drinking, or talking. It makes them a little more human, I guess.

      • mlnewman87 says:

        I found that one of my favorite things to play with is doubt. Not insecurities as much as not answering the question directly. The element of surprise alliances, unknown enemies,ulterior motives…it’s very exciting 🙂 This situation where the fight could happen, if any information is given the whole ending won’t be a surprise so I’m considering throwing in some mythical force that stops the confrontation before it even begins. Leaving doubt about the future for all the characters.

      • slepsnor says:

        That’s a tough situation. You don’t want to blow the surprise. Hopefully, the bad vibes between the characters don’t continue after the avoided confrontation. They’re at odds for a reason, so you might have to figure out where that reason came from. It’s like playing a psychologist/microscopic brain surgeon.

      • mlnewman87 says:

        It is really tough but I chose to do the outline for the first three books before writing it out. This way I can iron out all the plots, plot twists without making a mistake plus it makes it less stressful if I change something in book two and can make it plausible in book one. The bad vibes linger until just before the last chapter and then things are so crazy that those vibes mean nothing anymore. More is at stake than miscommunication. This book has lots of action which is really fun to write.

      • slepsnor says:

        Sounds exciting and I do the same thing. I have all 15 books of my series outlined. It makes things feel a lot clearer.

      • mlnewman87 says:

        Thank you and I agree totally 🙂

Leave a Reply

