Over Zealous

With the help of a space heater my fingers tremble a little less. Back tracking on the Destiny series…excitement with an over zealous determination caused a fun loving 14 chapters until I realized that it wasn’t plausible whatsoever. One clue that was being held over the characters had been cleared up in the first book. Cue head banging against the desk. Trying desperately to save all the work but switching the clues about so not all the awesomeness is wasted.

Thinking through the way I plotted out the first outline, I never exactly explain what the creatures are…or at least not right away. Which is good mystery however by the time I actually name it the details already explain themselves. Is it possible to not state what the mythical creature is until the last sentence of the book? The details are obvious so I feel actually saying it makes the reader feel like an idiot. I’m not going to spell it out but the hints are there. Would it be best to write out the whole story line before breaking it up into novels or chapters?

24 thoughts on “Over Zealous

  1. slepsnor says:

    Call them monsters, beasts, creatures, critters, killers, nightmares, fiends, and anything else you can think of. For example, how many things can you call a Lion without saying Lion? Cat, wild cat, maned cat, king of beasts, animal, predator, etc. A thesaurus would help with this issue.

    The problem you’re having with the clue is funny to me because that sounds exactly what went wrong with my first book. Well, it was the game version. The guy made this drawn out, creative plan for us to find the hidden heir over the course of at least 10 sessions. We found the hidden heir by the middle of session three because we pooled all our resources and did things that he never saw coming. It forced me to add a lot to the book version and give Luke a lot of other problems to worry about.

    • mlnewman87 says:

      What I’m struggling with is that it is from two P.O.V.’s. He knows what he is so he doesn’t have to explain that just like she knows what she is. A human doesn’t have to explain that she is a human…unless she isn’t anymore. Does that make sense? And there is so much going on that she doesn’t even take a minute to wonder what is going on with him. Does that explain without explaining? lol
      So are you suggesting that I create another issue to take the focus off the the clue issue? I can switch the clue to being a problem which works just fine however it will just take more time to get to the ending. It’s kind of making my head hurt trying to think it through so much.

      • slepsnor says:

        I think so. I’ve never really tried the dual P.O.V scenes. I try to do a limited third person P.O.V. Sounds like a tough challenge. Maybe they can have personal ‘names’ for what they are.
        If your head hurts then step away and try to come back fresh. The problems I used were ones to stretch out the moments where Luke finds the heir. Classes, girl problems, and what the other characters are doing help. I’m talking more about getting the characters’ focus off the clue than the reader. I think.

      • mlnewman87 says:

        You’re very helpful lol
        I don’t like the narrator/omnipresent P.O.V., the connection between characters and feeling is much more personal when it comes directly from them. I feel like my head hurts every time i approach trying to fix it…I need to push through a little to get somewhere.
        I think your problem idea will help a great deal. Take the focus off of the big picture issue by side lining it with the mini ones. Thanks!

      • slepsnor says:

        You’re welcome. I can see what you’re saying about the God-like P.O.V. It’s why I make it limited. The P.O.V. only knows what the characters know, so I try to make the reader feel like they’re standing alongside the characters. It’s hard to do with fantasy because it’s most commonly written as if the reader is watching past events unfold.
        I’d say read my book to see what I mean, but that’s a little too self-serving. πŸ˜‰ An example of a side plot to distract a character would be Luke and his rivalry with Kellia or his run-ins with Selenia. They aren’t connected to the heir, but they give him something else to worry about.

      • mlnewman87 says:

        I may just do that anyway lol And since I know the author I’m aware that it will be at least 15 books long.
        Do you believe in happy endings? I know what I plan for the ending but I’m pondering if it should be a happy ending…maybe an acceptable ending lol all the problems are fixed except for one and it’s something you can live with kind of situation.

      • slepsnor says:

        Tough call. It’s going to end with a pretty big battle and I don’t believe in all the heroes getting out unscathed. By the end, I have 6 main heroes. Some get sad endings and some get happy. I’m not a fan of stretched happy endings or heroes winning without loss. Every character gets put through the wringer and at least one is going to die in the last battle.

      • mlnewman87 says:

        Is it a cop out to not fix the main issue at hand? To spend let’s say 4 or 5 books trying to fix the main plot line issue only to realize it’s not fixable?

      • slepsnor says:

        It depends on how it’s done. If it’s truly not fixable then you would have to do the ‘evil/bad guy wins’ ending, which doesn’t always go well. After 4 or 5 books, you get attached to the characters, so many people don’t want to see them fail. You could also take the ‘heroes lose’ route and introduce a new hero or group of heroes to take up the cause. Though, I do think you need to give closure at the end of a series to avoid backlash.

      • mlnewman87 says:

        It’s hard to explain without explaining but it’s not that they lose because they don’t fix it in the end. It’s a livable consequence to deal with however I feel like to make it end “picture perfect” it’ll be cheesy and possibly guessable. I want the end to be original and honest and to be true to the characters. Love can conquer all but it doesn’t fix reality…does that make sense?

      • slepsnor says:

        That’s okay. I’m trying to think of a book or movie where a ‘big disaster’ wasn’t undone, but the main characters had each other to weather it.

      • mlnewman87 says:

        Titanic….except they died lol but the movie was awesome!

      • slepsnor says:

        I barely remember that movie. My college girlfriend (now my wife) got me to watch it when I was stuck in her dorm room with a 106 degree fever. She has yet to live that trick down.

      • mlnewman87 says:

        Can i just admit that the more you admit about your wife the more i like her? lol
        The movie was pretty traumatizing as I was in 5th grade but I’ve never been able to get over it. It’s a favorite always.
        A Perfect Storm was a sad ending too. I’m trying to wrack my brain but I can’t come up with anything.

      • slepsnor says:

        She’s a highly entertaining character and the inspiration for one female character per book series. Disaster movies tend to have the sad ending. Deep Impact is another example.

      • mlnewman87 says:

        Waiting for the glower to come. I have never seen Deep Impact. I’m thinking of names for my town. What do you think of Shadow Haze, Pennsylvania?

      • slepsnor says:

        Interesting name. It does sound a little odd for an Earth name, but I’ve seen stranger. Shotgun Crossing, TX still takes the cake for me. What’s the genre again?

      • mlnewman87 says:

        I was trying to use Shadow and the word Haze and that was the mix. It could be Hazey Shadow. I just didn’t want to name it Shadow City…it sounds too basic, a little too normal. The genre is paranormal romance. Lots of paranormal with a side of love.

      • slepsnor says:

        Shadow City doesn’t sound right. I’m wondering if there’s something else missing from the name. Shadow Haze doesn’t really sound like a town. Maybe Shadow Haze Farms or adding a third word to make it more town-like? It just sounds like it’s missing something.

      • mlnewman87 says:

        I just want an eerie town name. Shadowville? Hazetown? I need something more than it is.
        Side Note: The picture you put up of your composition journals with your creative ideas. Do you find the journals more comforting to write with more than the spiral notebook? Do you actually fill the whole journal before starting another one? Or do you just keep your ideas for one story per journal?

      • slepsnor says:

        Hazey Meadow? Sounds calm, but maybe a sinister undertone. Kind of like Silent Hill or something.

        The marble notebooks tend to last longer because the pages and covers of spirals tear off easily. I also found that the marble notebooks are cheaper. I typically finish the book with multiple ideas, but some of them were stopped halfway for one reason or another. Usually too damaged for me to work with them any more.

      • mlnewman87 says:

        Eh my head hurts, I can’t think of anymore towns right now. I’m going to try to rework my sequel before I get overwhelmed completely. I’ll update with newer info. πŸ™‚

      • slepsnor says:

        Town names can always be changed until it’s in print. Maybe you can simply put a place holder in there while you write and see if a name comes to you as you explore the town.

      • mlnewman87 says:

        Thanks, I will leave it with extra words in place just for now. The name of the town isn’t needed just yet, it’s only mentioned in the very beginning of the first book and the sequel beginning and middle.

Leave a Reply

