Haunted

I heard a song once and promptly forgot it. It has recently found its way into my eardrums again and it is…haunting me. Even in the silence it rings into the empty space, it has a way of drowning out everything else. I have been consumed by its words…it has hit a direct cord within my heart and I can not escape. The harder I push it away the stronger the urge is to be devoured by it. It seeps inside causing my voice to sing along to the lyrics while my soul cries out for mercy. Pleading for the song to end…only for my fingers to betray me by hitting the replay button.

“And then the silence surrounds you. And haunts you. I think I might have inhaled you.”

-Bloodstream by Stateless

Leave a Reply

