Too Much Action

Is there ever too much action going on in one novel? I have plotted and outlined the third book and then realized I have added 4 action packed scenes in which the first two novels have 1 maybe 1 1/2 but that’s about it. They are reasonable action scenes which causes the right effect for the next novel however I wonder if it comes across as too pushy. If you have a frayed rope…it will eventually snap with the pressure of a situation which is exactly what happens. And the paranormal aspect goes hay wire in the best possible way…or worst depending on the point of view. Loyalties are tested and decisions where both end in misery seems to be a growing issue. Which way will be up when the smoke clears? And who will be left standing on the right side of reality?

25 thoughts on “Too Much Action

  1. slepsnor says:

    I use a lot of action in my books, but I make sure that they have a purpose. Though, some stories might have less action than others. For example, my first is a lot of investigation and sneaking around while the second book has the characters running through a gauntlet of trips and battles. It works for the plot of each book. I would try not to see something as ‘too much’ or ‘too little’. It’s easier and more beneficial to look at a scene as ‘does it work for the story’.

    • mlnewman87 says:

      Thanks! I started panicking as i started going over everything and realized how much more was in one than the others but you’re right. You have to start with something, the story etc to lead up to the big parts. I think this series is a 4 book-er but I don’t believe in ending the series without the option of more.

      • slepsnor says:

        I forgot the name of the series, but it’s by R.A. Salvatore. He wrote a series where some of the books would follow a secondary character on a personal adventure or use a time jump to continue the character’s stories if he had other ideas.

      • mlnewman87 says:

        That’s a good idea too. Do you plan on doing something like that with your series?

      • slepsnor says:

        The characters who survive my series will make cameos in later series. Some will have kids who get involved in other series. Then there’s the fact that I plan for my career to begin with Luke’s first adventure and end with his final adventure. 😉 At the very least, I’d never write a Windemere story again. I have 20-30 series planned, so that won’t be for a long time.

      • mlnewman87 says:

        Wow…that is a lot. Do you have any idea on how you are going to spread your publications out? One a yr or every six months?

      • slepsnor says:

        As quickly as I can write, edit, and get the cover art. I have enough where I don’t think I have to worry about spreading things out. I guess it’s the one benefit of spending 10 years preparing to be an author instead of attempting to be an author.

      • mlnewman87 says:

        That is kind of awesome though. You get to choose when to put it out there instead of waiting on deadlines and stressing over the little stuff. I feel kind of guilty working on my destiny series since i haven’t even plotted out the third book to my Glimmer of Hope series and that is coming out first. It’s really awesome that you are staying faithful to your Windemere series throughout. I wish I could stay faithful to at least one of mine for longer than a few weeks. I have too many creative juices spilling out and I have to purge it onto paper before I forget it all lol.

      • slepsnor says:

        It’s a little more complicated than that. Last summer I took all of my series and merged them into Windemere. I use my weekends and nights to work on the other series. That’s how I take care of the creative juice spilling. 😉

      • mlnewman87 says:

        You’re a lot more organized than I am. 🙂 My emotions lead the way. Women are strange creatures as I’m sure you are well aware. Whatever I’m feeling it is as pure as the driven snow and I try to find parts of a book or series where it is needed and I pour it all in. Weeks later I’ll revisit to make sure it actually flows and I wasn’t just ranting like a mad woman. Does the music you listen to ever change your mood or reflect in your writing?

      • slepsnor says:

        It does, but I make sure to keep an eclectic collection going. I figure the raw emotion is always in the first draft and editing is there to refine it.

      • mlnewman87 says:

        Agreed. Do you ever feel your raw emotion should stay just because it is so honest? I feel like that sometimes…the purity of the emotion actually effects me. I have legit written an emotional seen and cried real tears….about a fake story I’ve created lol I don’t know if that makes it better or worse or if I’m just too close to loving my characters.

      • slepsnor says:

        Some times. I tend to zone out while I’m writing, so the emotions get in there pretty decently. I think. I’d have to ask my readers. I’ve cried from time to time. One scene in my second book always makes me choke up. I won’t say which one though. 😉

      • mlnewman87 says:

        Hah! I will have to purchase book two so I can catch on to your choked up scene. I give you props for admitting that you have cried. Zoning out is sometimes the best thing because you stay focused but you take it to the next level without noticing. You make the scene much more real and passionate.

      • slepsnor says:

        Well, hopefully book two is out in a month or two. 🙂

      • mlnewman87 says:

        What’s the title of book two?

      • slepsnor says:

        Prodigy of Rainbow Tower.

      • mlnewman87 says:

        Consider it purchased 🙂 And thanks for keeping me company lol

      • slepsnor says:

        You’re welcome. Hope you don’t have to wait too long for it. I post sections of it on Monday and Friday though. At least until the book goes live.

      • mlnewman87 says:

        I will keep an eye out for those.

      • slepsnor says:

        I have parts 1-3 posted as of today, so you have time to catch up. There’s still 3 scenes before the fun character makes her debut. 🙂

      • mlnewman87 says:

        I’ll need to speed read through book one so I’m not left behind lol I like fun characters. Full of wit or sarcasm?

      • slepsnor says:

        Full of raw magic and an adorable short fuse. She’s a bit too blunt for wit or sarcasm.

      • mlnewman87 says:

        Straightforward is always fun too. Do you ever worry that your characters are all kind of alike?

      • slepsnor says:

        Some of them do have similarities. Luke and Nyx are both stubborn and arrogant, but you’ll find that friends in real life share some personality qualities too. There is usually something that friends will have in common besides a shared interest in order for the friendship to reach a point beyond superficial.
        There are still differences between them. Luke is reckless on purpose while Nyx is more reflexive. They’re probably the two heroes of the series who are the most like each other, which is why they start calling each other ‘little brother’ and ‘big sister’.

Leave a Reply

