Blowing the Whistle Update

I didn’t realize how much I was doing until the page number caught me off guard. I’ve already outlined 9pgs. of work and it hasn’t even hit the steamy scenes or dramatic build up. It’s either moving at a snail’s pace or I’ve over detailed. I believe it’s the latter but that will help in the end result. Still haven’t picked a place to set this story in but considering somewhere down south. The warmer climate will be a lot more fun for creative expression.

Officially wiped for the evening, more writing tomorrow. Pulling out my Kindle and enjoying a good read, Legends of Windemere: Beginning of a Hero By Charles E. Yallowitz. Night all!

6 thoughts on “Blowing the Whistle Update

  1. slepsnor says:

    I get that. Sometimes it’s like a silent movie or sometimes I just get the noise with brief images. I have a friend who thinks in terms of video games. Everything seems to have a menu that he can fiddle with if he wants something else to happen.

    • mlnewman87 says:

      I wish I had some sort of control over it like that though. I start thinking a thought before I go into that dazed zone and the clips just happen whether I like it or not. My dreams are a constant movie, it never stops and every detail that is shown has a purpose.

      • slepsnor says:

        I prefer to let them ride along without my influence. I tend to think my subconscious has a better grip on things than the rest of me.

      • mlnewman87 says:

        I only mind when it takes a turn for the worst. Do you find yourself in the book? I keep causing my characters to do what I would do…not what they would do. Then I have to edit the scene to tailor it to them. It’s like the same repeat action and it’s driving me insane. I know not to do it but it keeps happening over and over. Any advice for breaking bad habits?

      • slepsnor says:

        Practice and a little self-awareness. Also, realizing what you’re doing and fix it in editing. I used to do that when I started and it took a few years of practice to make sure every character wasn’t me. Anything thing that helps is to write what I call ‘throw away’ scenes. These are simple scenes with the character in a situation suited to evolve their personality and explore their quirks. It won’t go into the story and you can delete it once you’re done, but it helps you get a better grip on what makes the character tick.

      • mlnewman87 says:

        I will give that a try. I don’t do many writing exercises and I know that that would help me become a better writer in the long run.

Leave a Reply

