Baking & Editing

Editing- Round One today for Hope Has A Glare. I’m up to chapter 8 while keeping an eye on the TV(watching Miami Heat 22 Vs. Atlanta 14). Being an amazing wife/daughter, making cookie brownies to please my husband and baking it at my mom’s house. Everyone seems happy. Making minor changes to repetitive words and deleting/re-writing a few annoying paragraphs. I hadn’t realized that it only rains once in this book…that isn’t realistic in the least. *Sigh* 15 minutes until the baked goods come out, it will help inspire more works.

10 thoughts on “Baking & Editing

  1. slepsnor says:

    That reminds me. My wife needs to bake cookies. I’d make them myself, but we have rules against that now. Though, we have a fire marshall who lives down the block, so I don’t see the real danger. 🙂

    • mlnewman87 says:

      The next time you go shopping buy the cookie brownie mix. It’s absolutely delicious. I must side with your wife on this baking issue, if you start fires with an easy dessert like cookies, you’re banned from the kitchen. Maybe you could try baking with the fire marshall coming over for a visit? 🙂

      • slepsnor says:

        It’s funny because I’m the better cook, but I’m horrible at baking.

      • mlnewman87 says:

        That is funny, I’m the complete opposite. I can cook the basics…with instructions but not much. I’m a baker like no other…might explain my chocolate obsession.

      • slepsnor says:

        That’s like my wife. I’m not sure why though. She tries, but it’s 50/50 that things will work out.

      • mlnewman87 says:

        I hate to admit this out loud…but i forget seasoning. I always cook the meat correctly but it doesn’t help w/o the seasoning. 😦 It really does make a big difference.

      • slepsnor says:

        Ouch. My wife ad-libs with the recipes. She uses seasonings, but they don’t always mesh with the rest of the food.

      • mlnewman87 says:

        My fear gets the best of me…I don’t want to add too much and most times I just forget to add it. My poor husband has to deal with more than bland meals. I need to make a simple cook book that won’t intimidate me in the kitchen.

      • slepsnor says:

        A trick I do is to lay out the spices before I even start and put the proper measuring spoon/cup in front of it. This is why I have multiples of each measuring item.

      • mlnewman87 says:

        I need that, I only have one measuring cup and one set of measuring spoons. I will try to give it a try, thanks. 🙂

Leave a Reply

