Editing – Hope #2 & Charmed Destiny

Near the end of editing round #2 of Hope Has a Glare, not too much to delete but room for improvement. My story doesn’t look so big now that it is 8.5 x 11 but those pages are going to increase by two hundred easy when formatted correctly. Does anyone ever write their books already formatted in the small size? Does it make it easier?

My interest is wavering while editing so I’m also starting to write the first draft of Charmed (Destiny Series Book#1). There seems to be some nervous energy swirling around at the prospect of this series. I have a lot of my hopes and fingers crossed that the story comes across as I imagine it in my mind. Alright…time to jump in. πŸ™‚

6 thoughts on “Editing – Hope #2 & Charmed Destiny

  1. rbdavis5 says:

    I’m too green at writting. But for.what its worth I just write the stories and deal with formatting later. But as I said ive not even published a short story yet so listening g to me may not be wise

    • mlnewman87 says:

      πŸ™‚ I’ve been writing and trying to format after but it is causing different issues along the way. It may be 20 chapters in large form but after formatting it’s up to 38. (Not to mention having to crop the chapters so there aren’t too many pages per chapter.) And this will sound so amateur but I can’t get my page numbers to start on the right page. I read that if I format first and start the page number where I start writing that that will fix it. Just mini issues. Any advice at all is fabulous, thanks πŸ™‚

  2. slepsnor says:

    Formatting is best done later. Honestly, I’m trying to stop focusing on page, chapter, and word amounts. I think it’s better to write your story for however long it needs to be. Though, I’ve had that problem with the page numbering. It’s designed to start on the first page, so doing otherwise usually requires a few tricks.

    • mlnewman87 says:

      At least I’m not alone in the page number issue. I thought it was just me. I’ve definitely been over thinking the pages per chapter. I prefer to range 9-14 but it is difficult even with that.

      • slepsnor says:

        I prefer 10-11 per chapter section and my chapters are typically 3-4 sections, but I’m seeing that I’m hitting more 6-9 range in my latest book. It still works though, so I have to drop my pettiness. πŸ™‚

      • mlnewman87 says:

        Agreed, I find that I judge myself so harshly. I know that I’m my own hardest critic but…I can be pretty brutal when it comes to my works.

Leave a Reply

