Work in Progress on Charmed Destiny Series

I’m starting to worry with all the plotting that I have accomplished for this series. I have taken baby steps in making Seth’s point of view and have just started Megan’s and I’m not happy. I can’t repeat what the first half of the story is unless it is majorly different between the two characters. Debating who should go first with the story…

Frustrated. As a writer I want it all…but that won’t be possible without something being left out in the first chapter but I do have a whole book to find a way to get the tid bits in there. Reworking the outline with crossed fingers.

8 thoughts on “Work in Progress on Charmed Destiny Series

  1. slepsnor says:

    Good luck. Sometimes it helps to simply put it into the first draft and see if you can fit it in somewhere else during an editing session. Are you not happy with how it’s coming out or with Megan’s POV specifically?

    • mlnewman87 says:

      I love Megan’s POV, she is the emotional drive which means she needs all the focus for the scene in total however the male POV has a distinct position, very pivotal to the point which forces the reader to go, “Say what?” 😦 Which makes me believe that I have to switch their places…and it’s going to through the outline off so bad now.

      • slepsnor says:

        I’ve been there and I think it’s an occupational hazard. Our initial outlines can only possess so much before we start writing and the characters evolve. An idea that was genius at first can no longer work due to the characters being even slightly different from their beginnings. 🙂

      • mlnewman87 says:

        Sad face big time. I’m writing out both scenes as a repeat in different POVs and going to continue on with the story. Maybe I could swing the first chapter your way when I feel comfortable enough with the final decision?

      • slepsnor says:

        Good idea. Nothing is set in stone until it’s on the shelf in paperback. Even Kindle ebooks let you revise them if you need to.

      • mlnewman87 says:

        Fabulous, thanks for the info.

  2. rbdavis5 says:

    not sure if this will help or no, but I had the same problem (of sorts) in my book, the first 6 chapters are told from the point of view of the young woman, but I also [in parallell] had been telling it form the demon’s poitn of view. the problem was from his point of view, it took less then 2 chapters to cover everything she needed 6 chapters to sort out. (probably closer to 2 paragraphs but distractions,,,)
    what I ended up doing (or am doing, still waiting to see if it flys or not) the start of book #2 was the demon’s version of the story. that way if someone gets book 2 first, they will be ‘up to speed’ on the big points, and will end up wanting to go back to find out the details.
    again not sure if that helps or not, after all I have zero published credits to my name.

Leave a Reply

