A New Adventure

I have begun hopping once again. I’m in the process of writing my very first YA Paranormal Romance (Title still in process). While most of my novels have been written in the form of first person and present tense, I’ve decided to change it up. This novel will be in third person and present tense. The tense may change to past but it depends on how the story comes out, whichever is easier for the reader. I’m committed to getting their story told because it’s unique and brings back happy memories of innocence.

But don’t worry, Blowing the Whistle hasn’t been forgotten in the least. Sometimes there needs to be a huge step back to get perspective before going back to edit/detail/re-write. Ally’s story will be shared and enjoyed sooner than I ever thought, so that’s good news for you and me.

27 thoughts on “A New Adventure

  1. Good luck. Present tense third person is a challenge to maintain.

  2. “Sometimes there needs to be a huge step back to get perspective before going back to edit/detail/re-write.” I do this with my stories, too. It’s great editing advice. Good luck with your new novel!
    -RB Austin

  3. Best of luck with the new project!

  4. musingsofcee says:

    Good luck! I often have issues deciding whether to do first or third person and usually change my mind about halfway through. Isn’t that just the way? I look forward to hearing more about this project, it’s always nice to bump into a fellow writer!

    • mlnewman87 says:

      You’re completely right. I’m far enough in to be rethinking it but too far to go back at the moment. Thanks for the luck, nothing like late night writing πŸ™‚

  5. Thanks for liking my post on the Newark Airport. Best of luck with the new novel. Taking a fresh look at technique is always healthy.

  6. Ms. Vee says:

    Hello, thank you for visiting, and the like on Sleepy Thoughts. Best of luck with your novel!

  7. Hi, Glad you liked our post. If you love reading then visit our Reading page:
    http://cabraseniorlibrary.wordpress.com/reading-writing/

    Cheers

    STB

  8. BhdandMe says:

    Thanks for liking the blog. Good luck with the writing.

  9. jjspina says:

    Thank you for the like! Love the sound of your new project. I would be interested to read. Keep in touch. Check out my children’s book if you have any little ones, Louey the Lazy Elephant. He is adorable and waiting to be adopted. Good luck with your book!

  10. Good luck for your new adventure and thanks for stopping by and visiting my blog!

  11. dweezer19 says:

    Much luck with all your projects. It always helps me to be working on more than one, even reading books. So far only Stephen King can completely capture my undivided attention…I miss the Dark Tower series. Thanks for stopping by my blog today!

  12. Sherri says:

    Thank you so much for visiting my blog today and reading my post, I do appreciate that you liked it. I hope you will be back to visit me at my ‘summerhouse’ again and I wish you every success with your book πŸ™‚

  13. gmikihayden says:

    How’s the project going? I prefer past tense but a lot of YA is in present tense. miki–G. Miki Hayden

    • mlnewman87 says:

      I have finished the novel however I’m doing my third pass on it. I’ve kept it in present tense with third P.O.V. although I’m still unsure if it will stay that way but we shall see. Thanks for stopping by my blog, I appreciate it. πŸ™‚

  14. Thanks for liking my post on early football in America. Best of luck with your new novel.

Leave a Reply

