An Inspirational Birthday Gift

For my birthday weekend, my BFFL took me to my very first convention. I won’t deny that it was a Vampire Diaries convention and yes I can feel all your judgey little eyes on me. It was an amazing experience, not just because I was able to meet and get photos taken with the actors but because of the Q&A session.

The actor who plays Kol Mikaelson- Nathaniel Buzolic was the one person I wasn’t expecting. I knew he was going to be there at the convention but his character is basically on the bad side. Interest in him wasn’t very high until he took the stage. He was funny, honest and extremely down to earth.

Nathaniel didn’t hesitate to get off stage and run into the crowd, pick out a fan for a question or give out hugs. He was so cool that it kind of blew my mind. But here is when things took a turn for the awesome. He started telling us about his family and friends in Australia and about his past dreams of wanting to be an actor.

He struggled as most actors do and was down to his last $20 before considering going back to his home country. That’s when fate intervened. A single phone call stating that he had gotten the job in Vampire Diaries; he would be starting in a few days or so. It was an eye opening and down-right-amazing timing that the call had come.

But his message was to not give up. No matter how many times you fail, no matter how many people say ‘you’ll never make it’, no matter how many times you are hit with disappointments; you must chase your dreams. This speech really inspired my BFFL and we had the lucky opportunity to tell him how much his words meant to us.

We have all had moments of second guessing especially as a writer. Should I really be doing this? Shouldn’t this be easier? Will anyone be willing to read this? Will anyone like it? No one wants to be a flop or worse a nobody. But you’ll never know unless you try and that was the point. You have to try and be the best that you can be because that phone call could be just around the corner for all of us.

So whenever you feel down, disappointed, frustrated or like quitting. Just remember that everyday is a new day. A new day with unlimited chances, expectations and opportunities. Never stop chasing your dreams.

3 thoughts on “An Inspirational Birthday Gift

  1. Vampire Diaries convention! I’m so jealous. 😉 I love the post. What a great message! -RB

  2. You’re never bigger than your dreams.

Leave a Reply

