I am sixteen going on seventeen
I know that I’m naive
Fellows I meet may tell me I’m sweet
And willingly I’ll believe

I am sixteen going on seventeen
Innocent as a rose
Bachelor dandies, drinkers of brandies
What do I know of those?

Totally unprepared am I
To face a world of men
Timid and shy and scared am I
Of things beyond my ken

I need someone older and wiser
Telling me what to do
You are seventeen going on eighteen
I’ll depend on you

Sixteen Going On Seventeen By/From The Sound of Music

Breeze Series

I am sixteen go…

3 thoughts on “I am sixteen go…

  1. VictoriaJoDean says:

    Even though I hear the music as I read and my brain sings along, I love how written as a poem this carries such depth.

    • mlnewman87 says:

      I can’t deny that I too sang along while putting this up. It’s a memorable song but also heartfelt. šŸ™‚

      • VictoriaJoDean says:

        šŸ™‚ It grabs the teenaged sentiments, doesn’t it? At least it did when teenaged still meant pure and untainted by a grown-up world. Still, it’s beautiful writing.

Leave a Reply

