Closed Up – Poem

I can feel the distance between us,

No matter how fast I run towards you,

Your eyes seem to dim with every step,

I don’t know how we got here,

I don’t remember the path we took,

Did I let you down?

Was it the things I didn’t do?

The distance expands further,

My arms have little effect on holding you,

You see right through me,

Our connection blocked with words unsaid,

I didn’t mean to hurt you,

I never wanted you to walk away,

Did I ruin us?

Was it the things I didn’t do?

Leave a Reply

